Émile Benveniste

Quoted by Didi Huberman

About the structure of the relations of persons (1946) “One characteristic of the persons I and you is their specific uniqueness: the I which enunciates, and the you to which the I is addressed, are each time unique. But he can be an infinite number of subjects, or none at all. The second characteristic is that I and you are reversible. The one that I define by you thinks of itself and can be reversed as I and I may become a you. There is no similar relation possible between one of these two persons and he. The third person specifically refers to nothing and to no one.”

Champ (I) contre champ (you) hors champs (he)

(obs: ver tb Roberto Sposito 2007)

About paoleb

muita cousa
This entry was posted in Aesthetics, Work in progress and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Émile Benveniste

Leave a Reply

